Steamboat Springs Customer Reviews

Steamboat Springs Customer Reviews (74)

Overall Experience*

4.5
Excellent
*based on the average of all Overall Experience ratings given in Traveler reviews.
03/17/2020

Lift lines and grooming

A little disappointed in the grooming and lift lines. Typically waited 10 to 15 minutes in lift lines, longer in the mornings.
Michelle Mitchell
03/17/2020

Steamboat spring

Great mountain. The mountain is really big so it takes a day or two to get you bearings by a great place to ski.
Teresa Farnell
02/27/2020

Always a treat

Steamboat is our favorite ski destination. it has a great variety of things to do, it's unpretentious, and though its gotten bigger over the last 10 years it is still "far from the madding crowds". We drove in from Denver and that was completely manageable - 4 scenic hours. It is obviously also very beautiful in the summer months, would love to get out and see it then!
Shawn Edward Turner
02/24/2020

Our Ski trip to Steamboat Spings

Our trip was fantastic and Steamboat is now our favorite place to go and Ski. Not only is the mountain and resort excellent but downtown is also a great place to go wander around shop and eat. We wanted to go back as soon as we arrived home.

Shawn Turner
Jane Clarke
02/21/2020

Great time at Steamboat

Steamboat seems to have terrain for all abilities and desires. We prefer the steep and groomed and were not disappointed. There was never a lift-line during the week; lines on Sunday could easily be avoided by going to a different area. There are a number of dining options at the base and on the mountain. Yeah, they are expensive, but no more than other resorts. We liked Timbers & Torch. The free bus gets you to town and an infinite number of restaurants and shops.
Leslie Zinn
01/17/2020

Ski.com is so easy to use.

This is our second year using ski.com and they just make everything so easy. We booked our hotel and rentals through them and they were so helpful. I can honestly recommend them.
Steve Wilson
03/30/2019

Great room and great skiing

Great spring skiing awesome room with nice view. Extremely comfortable bed. Great value.
Jeffrey N Grove
03/15/2019

Steamboat Springs Review

We love skiing in Steamboat as a family. We've tried all of the big resorts and this is surely our favorite. The people are so friendly and the mountain is just perfect for a family of 5 to navigate and enjoy.
Adele
03/14/2019

Nice variety of terrain. Something for everybody.

There was so much variety with the lifts and the terrain that you couldn't get bored. We even took a day off to go cross country skiing which was located nearby.
Rodney Gonski
03/09/2019

Mostly a great time!

The abundant snowfall of the 2019 winter season helped make this first visit to Steamboat an exciting and very fun experience. Excellent skiing conditions and beautiful wintry vistas could be found on all of the numerous trails of every category. For some reason, the Sundown Express seemed to have more stoppages than other lifts on the mountain during our visit. Perhaps loading and unloading that lift proves more difficult for some and should be investigated for improvements. Otherwise lifts operated well with friendly attendants. Food on the mountain was for the most part excellent. Unfortunately, the chicken chili at Thunderhead did not agree with my skiing buddy the second day. Beware. The only real drawback to this year's Steamboat visit was the inadequacy of the regional airport at Hayden. For an airport serving several major airlines, it can easily become overwhelmed, especially on Saturdays. The facility is too small and if even one flight is delayed, there is insufficient seating. Airport deicing equipment broke down during my departure effectively stranding three AA flights overnight requiring us to book lodging accommodations in Craig, a town about 20 miles away in the opposite direction because all accommodations in Steamboat were already fully booked.
Rodney Gonski
03/09/2019

Mostly a great time!

The abundant snowfall of the 2019 winter season helped make this first visit to Steamboat an exciting and very fun experience. Excellent skiing conditions and beautiful wintry vistas could be found on all of the numerous trails of every category. For some reason, the Sundown Express seemed to have more stoppages than other lifts on the mountain during our visit. Perhaps loading and unloading that lift proves more difficult for some and should be investigated for improvements. Otherwise lifts operated well with friendly attendants. Food on the mountain was for the most part excellent. Unfortunately, the chicken chili at Thunderhead did not agree with my skiing buddy the second day. Beware. The only real drawback to this year's Steamboat visit was the inadequacy of the regional airport at Hayden. For an airport serving several major airlines, it can easily become overwhelmed, especially on Saturdays. The facility is too small and if even one flight is delayed, there is insufficient seating. Airport deicing equipment broke down during my departure effectively stranding three AA flights overnight requiring us to book lodging accommodations in Craig, a town about 20 miles away in the opposite direction because all accommodations in Steamboat were already fully booked.
Mark
03/09/2019

Fun Resort Area

One of my favorite places to ski, easy to get around, lots to do, great restaurants
Elen
03/04/2019

Awesome

The skiing was incredible, plenty of variety for the entire family. We signed up for a private ski instructor for one day, a worthwhile luxury for the family to help us improve on unfamiliar terrain and she was the best! The resort isn't so big that you can't get around and see everything, but was big enough that you didn't have to ski the same trail twice in one day either. The mountain app was great for tracking where we had skied which was fun to go over at the end of the day with the kids. Dining options on the mountain were great, especially once we figured out that we could even make reservations for lunch at a couple of places. The views were spectacular from the minute we got onto the Gondola, we also went out to Strawberry Park Springs one afternoon which was a great experience.

The only downside was the transfers from Denver Airport which were not 'on demand', so there was a long wait for the shuttle, getting us in late at night which wasn't ideal for getting out to ski the next morning.
Tom Volk
02/21/2019

Great trip

Little bit of fresh powder made for some fantastic skiing. Found a really good happy hour for two dollar beers at truffle pig and the food was good as well.
Cheri Mitchell
02/15/2019

Entire family loved skiing at Steamboat

First, the airport is less than an hour away. Easy access. Secondly, the drive is safer without circling around mountains. Third, the elevation is lower so nobody was sick. Skiing was awesome. Well marked trails. Lots of snow. No lift lines. The town is fun and just a couple of minutes away. Buses are available too. Good food off and on the mountain. Nice family atmosphere.
Al
02/14/2019

First trip to Colorado

Very nice family friendly resort. All the staff at the resort were very helpful and welcoming. Terry Sports for rentals was also very convenient, with daily ski and boot storage, and worked well for our location.
Amy Acker
01/30/2019

6th annual

we love steamboat resort. we came here on a whim 6 years ago and don't think we'll ever stop.
Anna Trias-Henein
01/09/2019

Amazing place

We loved Steamboat and the resort was very well located, clean, with lots of amenities.
Timothy Noyes
01/06/2019

Ski Trip with Ski.com

My family used Ski.com for the second time in December. We worked with Jessica for the second time. She helped us with lodging (Torian Plum), ski passes and ski rentals. Everything was perfect, and Jessica is the best. She is super knowledgeable about mountain options in several states, she is organized and always patient/friendly. I would not book a ski vacation in the western US without Jessica! She (and ski.com) also helped us find discounts on rentals and lift tix that saved a ton! Torian Plum creekside unit was a 2 bedroom with den. It is essentially a 3 bedroom, with 3 full bathrooms, so not sure why it's called a den. The unit was great for our family of 5 (3 teenagers) and the location ideal. Loved it. My only complaint is the ski locker and room. The room is tiny with nowhere to sit or even turn around if more than two people are in the room. The locker is big enough for skis, but no hooks or shelves for anything else. We had to put our boots on in the condo and walk down to the ski locker, which is no big deal, but for a beautiful resort, the ski locker room is definitely substandard. Small complaint. The complimentary shuttle was fantastic! We used every night for dinner, and shuttle wait time averaged about 10 minutes during the busy Christmas week. Outstanding service and drivers very friendly.
Paul Wagner
12/28/2018

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful city.

Our first trip to Steamboat and, we hope, not our last. What a mountain! The ski school was wonderful and our stay in Trappeur's Lodge was the best.
Andy Kreider
12/27/2018

Great ski destination with a nice town.

This was our second trip to Steamboat Springs. This time was even better than the first. The weather and snow have been ideal both times. We travel from the midwest and find it to be an easy drive when we come from the north (through Walden, CO). The skiing is absolutely phenomenal! Great trails for all levels. Novice skiers can make it to top of the mountain and ski for miles down green trails to the base. For the advanced skiers, there are plenty of black/double blacks to hit.
Maria Patterson
04/09/2018

Great trip and location!

Our family of 5 had a great time. It was our first time skiing out west and Steamboat was the perfect place because it was not too crowded and it was mostly families with kids. The Sheraton was remodeled in 11/2017 and our 2 bdrm unit was great! Comfy beds and cute kitchen. Luxurious bathrooms and great views. It is the closest resort to the lift so it was truly ski in/out!
David Smith
04/05/2018

Steamboat Springs - Ski vacation

Had a great time, we will be back someday. Very much enjoy Steamboat
Laura
03/20/2018

3 days of skiing

Resort was clean and staff was excellent. There was a heated pool and 2 hot tubs, one for kids and one for adults. Also a spa and meeting rooms. Dining room staff was friendly and check in/our was swift.
Jeffrey Grove
03/15/2018

Great family resort, friendly people, awesome town and skiing.

Everything was great. Their ski school was excellent and the mountain staff were wonderful. We'd like to move there someday!!
Denis Schoonover
03/13/2018

Spring Break

Super crowded for Spring Break. Spring conditions the first day, bullet proof ice the second day, and variable on the 3rd day with good pow, but also some very icy spots.
Betty Maddox
03/09/2018

Perfect Ski Destination!

We just spent a wonderful week skiing with our ski club at Steamboat Springs. The ski resort facilities were excellent, with beautifully groomed slopes, and terrain for all levels. It was easy to get around the mountain and the food was excellent, especially at Ragnars. The staff working at the resort was warm and helpful and clearly proud of Steamboat. Kudos to all a nd thanks for a wonderful experience!
Steve Rima
03/02/2018

Steamboat is one of the best resorts in Colorado

Steamboat has always been one of the premier ski resorts in Colorado.
Roberta McDonnell
02/21/2018

Ski Town USA

We had a great experience in Steamboat. It was our first trip there. Even though they were low on snow for the Winter when we were there. The skiing & conditions were still great. A bonus was the Winter Carnival. We went into town to see them pulling kids down the main street by horses. Lots of fun.
Robert T Kelly DDS
02/12/2018

great

Go every year- love it-wish there was more snowfall this year but still great time experienced
Jeff Treadwell
02/11/2018

Great ski town.

Steamboat still has a nice mountain, short lift lines on Superbowl weekend plenty of dining options. The food on the mountain is good and like every mountain...expensive.
Albert Northrop
02/10/2018

Not Likely to Return

My problem is with Steamboat itself. My first visit there was in 1987 and I loved it. Used to take the family there every year when kids ten and under could ski free. Continued to go every three years even after the kids got older. It just isn’t the same anymore. I paid $120 a day for a SENIOR lift ticket. No more five out of six day discount. You must ski six days for a break. That, for me, with travel days, takes it out of the “week” ski trip. Jackson Hole is less expensive as is Crested Butte. I skied Wolf Creek one day three weeks ago for $42. The growth of the resort is understandable but lost is the intimate family feeling.

The Scandinavian Lodge was, well, OK. We were supposed to be at a different condo, one much more convenient, but that fell through for some reason and we were moved to “Scandinavia.” No discount in price. It isn’t on one of the regular resort bus routes. You have to call for a special bus going and coming. Or walk about a half mile with boots and poles to the base of Thunderhead lift. Did I mention that I’m a senior?

Nope, I likely won’t be back to Steamboat. It was always my wife’s favorite ski mountain and she’s in complete agreement. Her ticket was $140 a Day, the one day she skied.

Oh, and now they have a roller coaster gumming up part of the lower part of the mountain. I go to a ski mountain to ski. I go to the beach for a roller coaster. The place just isn’t the Steamboat I loved.
Jesse and Carla Hanke, Wittenberg Wisconsin
02/01/2018

A good time at Steamboat!

We were a little worried about the lack of snow for our mid January ski trip to Steamboat. With only about half their normal snow total we didnt know what to expect! What we found was a beautiful ski resort 98% open and wonderfully maintained slopes. Lift lines were non existant and the mountain staff was extremely helpful and polite. The cowboy theme added to the fun. I would like to say our night life was a blast but to be perfectly honest with the first lifts opening at 8:30 a.m. we pretty much skied till we dropped. .
Wendy Wurst
01/26/2018

Love Steamboat!

I like the laid back atmosphere at Steamboat. Great family trip!
Jay Andrew
01/11/2018

Great vacation

Steamboat is a great ski town. Plenty to do at the mountain and plenty of great experiences in town as well. We never had a bad meal the entire week, Carl's, O'Neills, Tap House, Slopeside, etc. were all fantastic. The Steamboat employees were all very friendly and helpful.

Definitely recommend flying to Hayden/Steamboat airport.

Could always use more snow!
D Fall
04/01/2017

Ski vaca and nastar race

We had a great week at Chateau Chamonix for the Nastar Nationals. The condo was fantastic, comfortable, well appointed and staff was friendly and made us feel very welcome. Skiing was good although record high temps, hiking in area was good and Strawberry Hot Springs was great fun and quite beautiful.
Wayne Baker
03/27/2017

Steamboat March 19-21

The people at the resort were friendly and accommodating. They can't help it turned warm and the snow was melting.
Karen Norell
03/24/2017

Steamboat Spring 2017

This was our first trip to Steamboat. Pros would be the ease of the Hayden Airport and the short drive to the mountain. The runs were varied...snow was not so great but that's because it was so warm the week we visited. Employees were OK--not as enthusiastic as the staff on the mountain at Keystone (in our experience). Food options were good. The town of Steamboat was enjoyable--maybe not as quaint as Park City or Breckenridge.
G. Bryan
03/16/2017

Great place!

We had a great stay and snowboard experience while at the resort, The staff on the mountain were very accommodating, courteous and helpful. The slopes were great and most lift lines were very short and fast, the Gondola is great also and can get a large amount of people up the mountain in a hurry, when it goes down for high winds you know it because lift lines at the base increase significantly but once you get up the mountain there are many more runs/lifts to chose from. I especially liked the frequent shuttles to and from the condo and gondola, it was a very short wait for the next one to arrive. I would definitely recommend Steamboat and would go back again!
Heather Kourcklas
03/07/2017

First trip out west for my niece and nephews - Amazing trip with wonderful memories!

Everything was convenient, slopes were great, lifts and gondola were easy. Shopping was fun, food was yummy and the service was A++. Everyone from the servers to the shuttle drivers to the lift operators, etc...were super friendly and helpful. Special shoutout to the team at Christy Sports (by the Waffle shop!) for all their help and service! They were fun :-)
Brandon Friedman
03/06/2017

Enjoyable, Clean, Convenient

The Steamboat Springs was very clean and convenient. Their shuttle services provided excellent transportation into and out of town including the hot springs.
Cliff Gaubert
01/30/2017

Excellent skiing!!

Easy access from airport to slopes. Great choice of terrain for all skiers. Free shuttle service throughout the resort saves money on rental car and spares someone from having to be the designated driver. Being from the south, this is a big deal since none of us are familiar with ice/snow driving.
Jack Schmidt
01/18/2017

Steamboat springs and Steamboat Grand

Marcella Esteban is amazing and very helpful. We love the resort and our experience with Ski.com is always positive. This is our 2nd ski vacation and it's the only way to go!
John Todd Willis
01/09/2017

Holiday Stay

First time to Steamboat and we were thoroughly impressed. Everything was conveniently located. The staff at all establishments were very happy and accommodating for all needs. I would recommend Steamboat to anyone looking to book a ski trip.
Anonymous from Maryland
04/07/2016

LOVE Steamboat Springs!! (March 2016)

Wouldn't change a thing about our vacation in Steamboat. The skiing was amazing - 16" of snow in the middle of our 5 days of skiing, the rest was beautiful sunshine & great temps. The lifts & gondola were great. Our kids, all pretty good skiers, took 2 full days of ski school group lessons & loved their instructors!! We had 2 great dinners out (Mambo Italiano & Carl's Tavern - would highly recommend both!). We love that Steamboat has a "kids ski free" policy for kids under 12; one free child for each paying adult -- applied to lift tickets & rentals. Everybody was super friendly, and the ski resort has guides & "ambassadors" stationed everywhere to help guests find their way and answer literally ANY question you could have.
Hayley Harris
03/31/2016

Family fun

Our family of 4 plus another family of 6, loved several runs- tomahawk, spike, children of winter, and moonlight. Night skiing was also a treat! We enjoyed dinner at Ore House and lunch/apres at T bar and Truffle Pig. Our kids enjoyed their ski instructor who was very patient with 5 girls! Only criticisms were that several runs were not clearly marked making it difficult to navigate the mountain for first few days. And that the lines for the gondola and Christie express were too long in the morning and after lunch.
Gary Rice
03/30/2016

We have been many times but this one was for our 10 y/o grandson to learn to board. He did great.

Lessons were expensive but very good for our grandson, We had tons of snow and temps were great for skiing and the snow. Powder days galore. Food on the mountain is expensive but good and for an international ski resort are to be expected. Rentals and storage were affordable and good equipment. It was spring break and the crowds were huge on Monday thru Wednesday. Long waits at the gondola and other lifts. But it was to be expected due to all the kids.
Scott Gibson
03/27/2016

great job Steamboat and the Inn at Steamboat

This was a great trip. Everyone helped out and provided great information. The skiing was fantastic
Butch Noe
03/26/2016

Excellent place for a family vacation

All as expected. Mountain beautiful and lifts very efficient.
David Warren
02/14/2016

Steamboat Resort and Steamboat Springs

We were fortunate to have several inches of fresh snowfall during our ski vacation, which definitely impacts our impression of Steamboat Springs. However, beyond the weather, the hospitality across the city was top notch. Regardless of whether we were talking to a local resident or resort staff, everyone is delighted about tourism in their city and how they can keep it growing.

Travel through the city was very easy with both the resort shuttle system as well as the city bus system. Safe, reliable, and timely.

We explored many restaurants both downtown and at the mountain resort and found all of our meals to be delicious. Weather you're craving upscale dining, ethnic food or a simple burger, you can find quality choices.
Prices are consistent with a resort area. A little on the high side but not unreasonable, especially given the quality of product and service.
Rob G.
02/10/2016

Unreal Experience

Several friends and I booked our Steamboat Springs trip through ski.com and cannot say enough about the experience. If you're looking for a true ski town that not only has a beautiful mountain but also a great community of people, then steamboat is the place for you
Robert Bolton
01/30/2016

Outstanding January Ski Vacation

We loved our trip to Steamboat! Nice easy drive from Hayden Airport. Friendly people all around. Great places to eat and of course the skiing was great. Liked the laid back atmosphere! We'll definitely be coming back and would recommend Steamboat to anyone.
Jim in Torrington
02/22/2012

Steamboat Excellence

Steamboat Springs does a lot for the skiing community that other resorts don't even try. Simply put you will have a great time with the 165 trails to pick from. There is something for all skill and age levels. Tree skiing to groomed runs and several terrain parks to choose from.
The ski area is only a 30 minute drive from the Hayden airport and there are free bus shuttles from the area to town. The residents are very friendly and are great with their Western hospitality.
Lawrence in Darien
02/16/2012

Great Place

Large mountain with lots of great rails. Don't miss the free service provided by the Over The Hill Gang....a great skiing experience
William in East northport
01/30/2012

Steamboat

Overall a good resort. Mountain layout makes it difficult to get around. Lacked mountain ambassadors at the top of lifts to provide guidance and recommendations. Poor trail signs did not provide adequate direction to lifts or on mountain dining. Not much near mountain shopping or restaurants. Hard to get a feel for the base area
Florence in Saint paul
01/18/2012

Friendly Steamboat

I went to Steamboat in 2009 and loved it. I was accompanied by my son and his wife. We all had a great time skiing that year as there was a great deal of new (and old) snow. We went again this January - 2012. The snow was marginal, but the trails were well-groomed and we had a good time with our favorite sport.

I injured my knee on the slopes in 2009. I was impressed by how well I was cared for by the ski patrol and people at the local clinic. The staff at our lodging (Trappeur's Crossing) were especially helpful in transporting me around and providing encouragement. Of all the places I have skied, Steamboat is the most friendly and accommodating. I recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable and stress-free ski vacation.
crissy in Wiscasset
04/07/2011

Steamboat is still a favorite ski destination for our family!

We have skied Steamboat before Gondolas and before Gondola Square. After 18 years, we have returned, and we were not disappointed. The ski slopes have the best wide runs for the beginners, and now offer special attractions for boarders, too. We always enjoyed downtown Steamboat because of the well preserved town. There are still some decent restaurants too. The staff at Sport Stalker are THE FRIENDLIEST anywhere! We highly recommend them for renting your gear.
H in Jacksonville
03/29/2011

Steamboat Springs perfect family vacation

We took our 10 and 4 year old to Steamboat Springs and it was a fantastic family vacation! There was tons of snow, the mountain was fantastic and it wasn't too crowded. Our kids had never skiied and loved ski school and the coaches were fabulous. We found everyone at ski school to be very caring and accomodating. In fact, every person that worked at Steamboat that we dealt with was friendly and helpful. The town was close by and very cute. There were plenty of restaurants and we also had a great time tubing and going on a sleigh ride.
Jennifer in Creole
03/13/2011

We LOVED Steamboat Springs

My daughters, Emily 6 and Madison 12, had never been in snow or real snow were from Southwest Louisiana. We fly to Hayden Co, and took a shuttle to our resort which was at the foot of the mountain in a In & Out resort. Sking was great we watched from our balancy, walked everywhere, and the Gondala was outside our door. The public bus was outside our door. Food great, veiws breathless, and very very very family friendly. We had a blast can't wait to go back next year. The whole experience was wonderful. Ski.com was very knowledgable and a very good value. Our agent was great.
Chad in Dixon
02/07/2011

Steamboat is Awesome

If you are looking for a mountain that has it all, this is the place for you. The skiing is great, the shopping is good and also the night life. Everyone we met were very friendly. I would recommend Steamboat to anyone. They has some very challenging trails all the way down to intermediate.The preview is going to say we stayed in 2010 but we actually stays in Jan.Feb of 2011.
Annalisa in Hialeah
02/03/2011

Steamboat Springs ia Amazing Skiing!!

We booked through Ski.Com ... again ... So easy and helpful, both times our representatives have been great!
This was our second trip to Steamboat and we loved it! The snow was fabulous this year!!! We really enjoy Trappeurs Crossing, its great accommodations, everything that you need is there,great pool and hot tubs too... for those weary legs after skiing all over the mountain.
We have never stayed at such a service orientated resort... the locals are so kind and considerate.
The free bus and shuttles are so handy, you can travel all over the town too. Loved the Mexican food at the Cantina!!!
josiah in Beaumont
12/18/2010

Steamboat in Three words: A - MAZE - ING!!!

I am a returning guest to Steamboat year in and year out, and every year it some how is a little better. I usually go with my family, but this year my buddies and I decided to go on a guys trip only. Worked out great!!! I will absolutely be returning to steamboat as long as I'm able to step down on the bindings!!!
Britt in Silver spring
12/17/2010

We will be back...

Leaving the east coast with 5ft of new snow in the yard was difficult. But first trip down Mt. Werner confirmed this was a great ski destination. For a family we have found no better hill.
Pat in Oak park
03/02/2010

We love Steamboat!

Steamboat Springs is a fantastic ski resort in terms of the friendly, hospitable people, the multitude of ski runs, and casual atmosphere. It's one of our favorite ski locations.
bob in Fairfax
02/25/2010

lack of snow

we have skied all of colorado, utah, montana, most of canada, vermont, west virginia, pennsylvania, nevada, and most of the european alps. we decided to come to steamboat springs simply for it's champagne powder and all the great things that we had heard about the skiing. however, we were greatly disappointed in the lack of snow, the size of the ski resort, the lack of night life and the lack of restaurants around the mountain base. Anybody reading this, would think that we are a bunch of premodonnas, but that is not true, we just feel, we have skiied much better ski resorts, with a lot better snow, diverse variety of cusine and much bigger mountains. So, in all fairness, if they had more snow, the trip would have been a lot better, but still there is not much to do for adults or kids after dinner time ( 6 to 7 pm ) at or around the mountain base.
Leslie in Chesterton
02/17/2010

Gorgeous mountain; Can't wait to go back.

I absolutely loved Steamboat. It was easily accessible from the airport which was one of the reasons I decided to ski there. The mountain was beautiful and even though there wasn't any fresh powder when I was there, the skiing was still great. I will be back soon.
Susan in Fort myers
01/29/2010

Third Visit

Like it so much we keep coming back!
carolyn in Madison
01/27/2010

we had a great time

we had a great time! The people were friendly. The skiing was fun. Our accomodations were lovely!!
Michele in Memphis
03/17/2009

Torian Plum Creekside at Steamboat Springs...

This was our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids)'s fourth trip to Steamboat, & we have always booked through a travel agent friend & Ski.com.  Together, they have helped us enjoy positive experiences.  Each year, we have learned more about the mountain, & we have become more comfortable with the Steamboat community.  This years vacation, my family 100% agrees, was the BEST ever!  At the Ski.com agent's suggestion, we stayed at a resort that was a bit more expensive than in the past, but it was so well worth the upgrade!!!  We had much more space & more amenities in our unit than in the past.  Again, we were guided to yet another incredible ski/snowboard vacation.  From the airport, we were taken to our condo.  Our equipment was delivered to us the same day that we arrived by experienced folks who knew how to properly fit us.  The complimentary shuttle took us to the grocery & back, & to other places around town, too.  In the afternoons, we would sit on our balcony & enjoy the sunshine & acoustic guitar player that entertained outside of the restaurant below our condo complex.  Sometimes we would go out to dinner, but most other meals were eaten in the comfort & ease of our condo, since we were at a ski in/ski out complex.  Economy withstanding, we look forward to doing this same trip again next year.  Thank you Ski.com!!! 
erin in Boston
03/12/2009

Great Mountain for First-Time Colorado Skiiers

My boyfriend and I are big New England skiiers and were looking forward to getting more vertical while skiing Colorado's legendary powder conditions. We got the former.

Unfortunately, since we visited in March, the conditions were more springlike than powder like, which meant mashed potatoes by noon, and ice skating the frozen remnants in the morning. The grooming also wasn't very good - even the trails that were claimed to be groomed were very chunky in places with frozen granular. Being an East Coast skiier, I can vouch that many of those resorts can groom ice chunk granular into corduroy, so this was a little disappointing.

Because Steamboat can't control the conditions, I'd still recommend it to a friend. The mountain itself is nice, with challenging terrain. We began on blues to be safe, but were soon skiing some of the tougher blacks. I wouldn't recommend this mountain to a beginner though, because its terrain only offers about 9% beginner trails, which are more cat tracks and narrow corridors leading to different lifts which are frequented by very advanced skiiers. The terrain very much caters to intermediate and expert skiiers, and offers various challenges - long steeps, short bumps, open cruisers, etc. The scenery also gives points to Steamboat, as well as the fact that we experienced little to no lift lines our entire stay.

Steamboat also has nightlife and off mountain activities for everyone. On the advice of our ski.com agent Diane, my boyfriend and I visited Strawberry Park Hot Springs via Sweet Pea Tours to soak in the natural warm pools after a long day of skiing. We also took a great snowmobile tour that took us 12000' vertical and onto the continental divide. Furthermore, the town of Steamboat Springs is easily accessible and has something for everyone - tourist shops, great restaurants (try Riggio's), and even Howelsen Hill (bring your ice skates, or try snow tubing).

Lastly, Steamboat is fairly accessible although it is not along the I-70 corridor. We flew into Hayden, a small airport where we literally deplaned on the runway. Be that as it might, the airport is only a short 90 minute flight from Minneapolis, and it is only a 30 minute shuttle drive from the resort.

All in all, we were very satisfied with both our vacation and our booking experience through ski.com
Eric in Port chester
03/07/2009

Ordinary until we got powder

Ordinary skiing all week until we got dumped on with powder our last day. Absolutely incredible powder skiing that one day.
Phillip in Clarksville
03/07/2009

Great Snow, Long Drive

Steamboat is a skiers ski resort. If you go spend most of your time on the hill searching out fabulous powder hidden along the "rope" runs. Although there is little in the way of Apres Ski, you can find some "Slopeside" at the bottom of the hill and "fourpoints" on the hill, but do not expect Whistler or Austrian parties. 
If you take the time to drive all the way to Steamboat find the off piste and let the boards ride. 
PB
Mary in Houma
03/07/2009

steamboat springs vacation 2009

My husband & I stayed at Ski Inn Condos. We were very impressed with the value & accommodations. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with a king size bed (very comfortable and well decorated). We had daily maid service & simply walked out the door for the Steamboat Resorts ski shuttle. It was very convenient because we did not have a rental car. Danielle with Ski.com did an excellent job with booking our vacation to Steamboat, Co.
Bob in Smyrna
03/07/2009

A+ Experience at Steamboat

Steamboat exceeded our expectations. This is not only a fabulous ski mountain with countless ski trails, but it offers a community feeling that is unique among ski resorts. My non-skiing wife also loved the resort more than any other, because it offers snowshoe trails on the ski mountain. Rather than driving somewhere, she was just a quick ride up the gondola to the snowshoe area.